Rice County Community and Justice Council

Justice with scalesRegular meetings

4:30 p.m. on the second Wednesday of February, May, August and November in the Government Services Building, 320 Third St. NW, Faribault
Meetings are open to the public.


  • Jeffrey M. Johnson, Third District Court judge (chair)
  • John Sherwin, Faribault police chief (vice chair)
  • Emily Carroll, HealthFinders Collaborative
  • James Cole, Public Defenders Office
  • Mark Elliott, Northfield police chief
  • Rick Gieske, Rice County deputy administrator-Community Services
  • Lisa Kuhlman, Rice County district court administrator
  • Kari O’Leary, defense attorney, Eckerg Lammers
  • Brian Mortenson, Rice County Attorney
  • Erica Staab, HOPE Center director
  • Davin Sokup, Northfield city councilor
  • Jesse Thomas, Rice County Sheriff

The Community and Justice Council is a collaborative policy-level body that works to develop local capacity for systemic thinking and acting with respect to criminal justice issues.

Rice County is looking for residents interested in becoming a member of the Community and Justice Council. Find an application hereVersion OptionsCommunity Corrections Advisory BoardHeadline.