Sheriff's Office services
- How can a member of the public get fingerprinted?
The Rice County Sheriff's Office provides finger printing services to the general public on Tuesdays from 2-4 p.m. and Thursdays from 9-11 a.m. Cost per person is $25; exact change, cash only.
- How do I obtain a permit to carry a gun?
Applications for permits to carry a handgun must be submitted to the sheriff of the county where the applicant resides and can be obtained at the Sheriff's Office or online from the Minnesota Department of Public Safety.
Do not sign or date the application form. That must be done in front of the records clerk accepting the application. All applications must be made in person and require a photo ID (driver's license or passport). All applicants must be at least 21 and must not be prohibited from possessing a firearm by any state or federal regulation.
Applicants must take an approved training course that includes both the legal aspects of carrying a firearm as well as a "hands-on" qualification portion. All applicants must provide a certificate showing completion of a qualified firearms training course prior to application. Training must be completed within 1 year of the application date. Any questions regarding training standards can be obtained through the Minnesota Bureau of Criminal Apprehension.
Permits are valid for five years and there is a $100 application fee. Exact change, cash only. Visit Minnesota State Statutes to learn more.
Renewing a permit to carry
The renewal fee is $75. Exact change, cash only. Permits can be renewed within 90 days of the expiration date. If it's within 30 days of the expiration date, a $10 late fee is required. Renewals are not permitted more than 30 days after the permit is expired. It will then be considered new, and the fee will be $100. Payments must be made in cash.
Download the Permit to Carry application.
Questions should be directed to the Sheriff's Office at 507-332-6010.
- Can I text a tip to the Sheriff's Office?
The Rice County Sheriff's office uses Crime Stoppers, which is completely anonymous for members of the public to text tips about criminal activity.
Contact it by phone at 1-800-222-8477 or visit www.CrimeStoppersMN.org.
- When should I call 911?
911 is meant for emergencies only. Do not use 911 for directory assistance or non-emergency assistance. For non-emergency, 24-hour sheriff dispatch, call 507-334-4391. For general information from 8 a.m.-4:30 p.m., call 507-332-6000 or toll free 866-727-5299.
Examples of 911 emergencies
Examples of non-emergencies
- Abandoned vehicle
- Barking dog
- Loud party
- Power outage
Never make a test call to 911. These test call occupy the dispatcher and tie up phone lines and equipment. The telephone company has designed 911 to be highly reliable, so it will work when you need it. Please keep the lines free for people who have emergencies.
Never call 911 and hang up. If you accidentally call 911 do not hang up, let the dispatcher know that you called accidentally. Enhanced 911 systems display to dispatchers both the calling telephone number and the location of the telephone. Most policies on "hang up" calls are to call back and attempt to verify if there is an emergency. If a dispatcher cannot verify, deputies are sent to the address. This ensures that a person who is incapacitated can receive help without having to talk on the phone. Unfortunately, most hang up calls are false and tie up valuable human resources and equipment, which may be needed elsewhere.