Marriage license applications

Effective Aug. 1, 2013, both applicants must apply for marriage licenses at the Rice County Recorder's Office in the Rice County Government Services Building. Applicants do not have to be Rice County residents.

Required information

  • Full Names - before and after marriage
  • Addresses - before and after marriage
  • Age
  • County where each person lives
  • Date and place of birth
  • If previously married, the date the last marriage was terminated, and the city and state in which it was terminated. If the marriage ended in divorce, the type of court must be included.
  • Social Security numbers
  • $115 without a premarital educator's statement
    $40 with the original premarital educator's statement. The original educator's statement must be signed, dated and notarized from the person who provided the premarital education. This statement must also appear on the educator's letterhead (Minnesota Statute 517.08)
    Fee must be paid by cash or check at the time of application.

Sample application

View a sample of the marriage application. This is a sample only and shows the required information needed to apply.

Use of license

Marriage licenses may be used anywhere in Minnesota. The license must be used within six months or it becomes void.


Checks are to be made payable to the Rice County Recorder. The Recorder's Office does not accept credit or debit cards. Orders are not accepted via telephone or Internet.

Minnesota marriage statute

View Minnesota Statute 517.00

Marriage Documents